Question: What age is considered a minor in Mississippi?

The term minor, when used in any statute, shall include any person, male or female, under * * * eighteen (18) years of age. SECTION 3. Section 11-5-115, Mississippi Code of 1972, is amended as follows: 11-5-115.

21 years old Maturity usually means of legal age, 21 years old in Mississippi. While minors may enter into contracts, other conditions apply. The legal definition of mental illness, however, varies among the states and is more difficult to determine for contract purposes.

Are 20 year olds minors in Mississippi?

A person that has reached the age of majority is legally held responsible for their own actions, such as signing a contract or committing a crime. Before reaching this age, a person is considered a minor child .Age of Majority by State.StateAge of MajorityMississippi21Nebraska19Alabama19Wyoming1846 more rows

Are you still a minor if your 16?

In all 31 states, a minor is referred to as someone under the age of 18. Minors aged 16 or 17 who are charged with crimes could sometimes be treated as an adult.

Can a 13 year old date a 16 year old in Mississippi?

Mississippi statutory rape law is violated when a person has consensual sexual intercourse with an individual under age 16 who is not their spouse. A close in age exemption exists when the age gap between the parties is less than 36 months. Mississippi has a close-in-age exemption.

Reach out

Find us at the office

Dayberry- Antinucci street no. 75, 92993 Belfast, United Kingdom Northern Ireland

Give us a ring

Daan Hilger
+47 129 536 826
Mon - Fri, 9:00-17:00

Tell us about you