Mississippis age of majority is older than most states, at 21 years old. However, minors do have some legal rights and responsibilities. For example, under Mississippi law, 18-year olds can enter into contracts and settle personal injury lawsuits.
What is considered a minor in Mississippi?
The term minor, when used in any statute, shall include any person, male or female, under * * * eighteen (18) years of age. SECTION 3. Section 11-5-115, Mississippi Code of 1972, is amended as follows: 11-5-115.
How late can a 17 year old work in Mississippi?
Mississippi (MS) Quick Reference TableAgeSummary of Requirements14-15May only work between the hours of 7:00am and 7:00pm. Can work up to three hours per day and 18 hours a week during the school year.16-17May only hold positions in non-hazardous occupations.2 more rows
What is the minimum age to work in Mississippi?
Minors as young as 14 are able to seek employment in Mississippi and the key is to find a job; no work permit is needed for minors residing in the state. As the federal government does not require work permits, minors living in Mississippi do not have to obtain one prior to seeking employment in the state.
At what age can you legally work?
Those between the ages of 15 and 18 years are allowed to work subject to several conditions regarding their working hours and conditions. Students between the ages of 15 and 18 years old are permitted to work and are issued temporary juveniles work permits.